Project ‘Home’, yet another attempt

“Well, I suppose there’s no place like home,” she said.
“No,” said Granny Weatherwax, still looking thoughtful.
“No. There’s a billion places like home. But only one of ’em’s where you live.”

“Witches Abroad”, Terry Pratchett

*

So. Once again I find myself in the position of a future homeowner, this time without a mortgage, thank fuck. In a couple of months I’m going to move in to my grandma’s apartment that has been empty for over a year but before I can do that, I need to empty it from most of her stuff that she diligently hoarded over the decades. And then I have to renovate it because right now it is full of classic Soviet decor and that’s pretty much ohgodno in my books, at least if I have to live in it.

Ideally I’d do the works before moving in but that would require either lots of money or lots of time and currently I can’t say I have magnificently overflowing resources of either. Once I actually live there, I don’t really have much choice other than just do it or walk around blindfolded all the time😛

At least the windows have been changed only a few years ago and I won’t have to buy a bed immediately, since there are two couches which both pull out. I’ll leave the floors as they are (at least for now… which probably means ‘forever’ or ‘until I fall through’) but I need to find an electrician who would check (and change if necessary) the wiring. It might be completely okay for all I know but that conclusion is better left to the professionals, I guess. The kitchen is in the worst state – I can keep the stove but those cupboards there look as if they will fall apart if I so much as breathe heavily in their general direction. The toilet and bathroom need some fresh paint and the latter could probably use a bunch of nice tiles as well. And I guess the sink there should be raised higher – I’m much taller than my grandma was.

The above was just an intro to some “before renovation” photos and here’s to hoping that I will have the “after” pics in a not-so-far-off-future as well😀 Believe it or not, Team Me+Mom has already thrown away about half of the stuff that filled the apartment but it sort of feels like cleaning out the stables of Augeas – there’s just SO. MUCH. STUFF. And I don’t want to simply throw everything away either because there’s things I will definitely need to use myself in the future. I also try to recycle as much of these “treasures” as possible because I really hate chucking out perfectly good items that might be of use to someone else. Anyway, picspam time!

[Photos behind the cut because long post is loooooooooooong.]

DSC_0959

Hallway. Badly in need of a new floor covering and wallpaper.

DSC_0960

Not exactly too spacious but it’ll do. Needs lots of paint though because the current colour scheme is pretty damn depressing.

DSC_0962

The bathroom also sports the fugly ancient sick tones.

DSC_0961

Pretty much everything except the bath needs to be refreshed.

DSC_0963

The way to the kitchen is narrow but at least there’s a cupboard overhead (that you can’t see in the photo) and a wardrobe to the left (that you also can’t see here but at least I know it’s there).

DSC_0964

So. Much. Work.

DSC_0965

I don’t think I will need to buy any more regular kitchen utensils, ever! I have a lot more than these at my parents’ place  and also my current home… I guess I’ll need to make a selection of what to keep and what to give away once I have an overview of what I actually have.

DSC_0966

This is what I see if I look out of the kitchen window, assuming it’s winter.

DSC_0968

Somehow this will magically turn into my bedroom at some point.

DSC_0967

Stuff heaped on stuff, leaning on more stuff.

DSC_0969

At least the bedroom currently has two wardrobes, so there’s room to put… you guessed it! STUFF!!!

DSC_0970

This will be the living room. There’s no TV, just the empty box… although I will probably buy a TV-set at one point, even if it’s only so I’d have reason to get a Wii or an Xbox.

DSC_0972

Couch A and more piles of stuff.

DSC_0971

Couch B which I will somehow need to drag into the bedroom at some point… and MOAR STUFFZ!!!eleven!!1

DSC_0974

Even just looking at all these things has stressed me out😀 So I’ll finish the post with a view from the balcony. Fortunately the balcony door is pretty decent, so street noise is only a problem when it’s open.

 

Categories: my castle, yay | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Project ‘Home’, yet another attempt

  1. Ohwow. Ikka veel nii palju asju😀

    • Jah, varsti kaalun buldooseri üürimist, et lükkaks lihtsalt kõik rõdult alla…

      • Kuule, idee, võib-olla oled ise ka mõtelnud juba selle peale, aga nt kõik suuremad asjad (mööbel jne), saad Uuskasutuskeskusesse anda nii, et ise kutsud nende auto järgi ja siis nad veavad minema. Et äkki on abiks. Ja varsti, kui ma jälle tohin rohkem kui 6 kilo tõsta, võin sinuga ühineda seal korra loomises. Jaanuar on mul pmst vaba.

        • “Meie keskusesse saab annetada asju, mis on muutunud üleliigseks, kuid mis on jätkuvalt veel kasutuskõlbulikud, puhtad ja terved.”

          Seega saaks neile ilmselt pakkuda ikkagi ainult valitud kraami. Mööbliga pole selles mõttes väga muret, et mõned asjad ma jätan sinna praegu sisse ja ülejäänuga võib mu vend oma maja kütta, aga aitäh kaasa mõtlemast🙂 Ja oled iga kell oodatud mulle sinna appi, kui ma Barcast tagasi olen :*

Thoughts?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

